Introduction to Sacraments



What is a Sacrament?

Instituted by Christ himself to dispense God’s grace, a sacrament is an outward sign of an inward grace which is an efficacious instrument of Christ’s Divinity.

“Jesus Christ himself is the sacrament, as he gave his life to save mankind. His humanity is the outward sign or the instrument of his Divinity. It is through his humanity that the life of the Trinity comes to us as grace through the sacraments. It is Jesus Christ alone who mediates the sacraments to allow grace to flow to mankind.” The Seven Sacraments

There are seven Sacraments. And these sacraments are categorized into three: The Sacraments of Initiation, the Sacraments of Healing, and the Sacraments of Vocation.

The Sacraments of Initiation

The three Sacraments of Initiation are Baptism, Confirmation and Holy Eucharist. They introduce the person into the Christian Church. It is by receiving these three sacraments that we receive the new life of Christ (Catechism of the Catholic Church 1420).  Baptism is the first of all the sacraments.  To receive the other 6 sacraments, one has to baptized first.


The Sacraments of Healing

There are two Sacraments of Healing. They are the Sacraments of Penance (Reconciliation or Confession) and Anointing of the Sick. Though our original sin is removed and and we are bestowed with the grace of new life, we still live our Christian life in an earthen vessel. In this journey of new life, we disobey God and we sin, suffer various kinds of deceases and illnesses physically, psycho-emotionally, socially and spiritually. Because of these we need healing. Jesus knows our human situation and so He instituted these sacraments when He himself healed those who were sick and forgave sins. He gave  His disciples authority and power to continue these ministries.


The Sacraments of Vocation

As the Sacraments of Initiation introduce us to a pilgrim life of faith, the Sacraments of Vocation bestow upon us the grace of holiness. Holiness is the common vocation to every baptized. This call or vocation to a holy life is responded in a life of service to others, a mission of evangelizing the world. There are two Sacraments of Vocation or Service  which dispense to the one called the grace of service, the Sacraments of Marriage and Holy Orders.

Two other sacraments, Holy Orders and Matrimony, are directed towards the salvation of others; if they contribute as well to personal salvation, it is through service to others that they do so. They confer a particular mission in the Church and serve to build up the People of God. (Catechism of the Catholic Church 1534)

Through these sacraments those already consecrated by Baptism and Confirmation1 for the common priesthood of all the faithful can receive particular consecrations. Those who receive the sacrament of Holy Orders are consecrated in Christ’s name “to feed the Church by the word and grace of God.”2 On their part, “Christian spouses are fortified and, as it were, consecrated for the duties and dignity of their state by a special sacrament.” (Catechism of the Catholic Church 1535)

The Seven Sacraments


An Important Note. Please Read.

Please click on the menu once again to learn more about each sacrament. You will also learn about the schedule and requirements to receive the Sacraments of Baptism, Confirmation, First Communion, Confession and Marriage at Santuario Eucharistico.